The Soccer Tournament (TST), the 7v7 event with a $1 million winner-take-all prize being played in Cary, NC from June 5-10 today announced the entry of Borussia Dortmund into TST’s 48-team men’s field.

Dortmund, who competed in TST’s inaugural tournament last summer, will return with a squad featuring several club legends. Among those currently committed to play include:

  • Evanilson (1999-05)
  • Márcio Amoroso (2001-04)
  • Tinga (2006-10)
  • Felipe Santana (2008-13)
  • Lucas Barrios (2009-12)
  • Kevin Großkreutz (2009-15)
  • Moritz Leitner (2011-16)

Santana and Großkreutz both return from last year’s Dortmund team, while the remaining legends will make their TST debut this summer. 

“I am very excited to be part of TST again and to represent Borussia Dortmund on the field with my former teammates,” said Kevin Großkreutz, two times Bundesliga champion and 2014 FIFA World Cup winner.

All seven committed legends combined for 679 total first-team appearances during their time with the club. Additional commitments for Borussia Dortmund’s TST team will be announced through the TST’s social media channels, @TST7V7, as well as the club’s.  

“We are looking forward to our return to this exceptional event. We'll be accompanied by a fantastic ensemble of BVB legends who are excited to compete in this format and perform in front of an enthusiastic crowd,” said Marc Lingenhoff, Managing Director for BVB Americas. “Ahead of the FIFA Club World Cup in 2025 and the FIFA World Cup in 2026, we aim to demonstrate a consistent presence in the market and offer existing and new fans various touchpoints with our club.”

“We are very excited to have Borussia Dortmund compete in TST again this summer,” said TST founder and CEO Jon Mugar. “They’re set to bring an amazing team that will be exciting to follow for fans attending our soon to be sold out festival.”

TST will take place at WakeMed Soccer Park in Cary, North Carolina from June 5-10. The 48-team men’s field will commence with group play on June 5-6, with teams being split into 12 groups of four. Thirty-two teams will emerge from the group stage to the knockout rounds, beginning on June 7. TST’s round of 16 and quarterfinals will take place on June 8, and the two semifinal matches will be played June 9.

TST’s inaugural women’s bracket will feature eight teams competing  for an equal $1M, winner-take-all prize. The field will feature Heather O’Reilly’s team US Women, as well as additional clubs to be named later. The women’s event will begin June 7, and be broken into two groups of four. Two teams will advance from each group to play in the semifinals on June 9. 

Both the men’s and women’s events will conclude in a winner-take-all championship doubleheader on June 10, with a total of $2M in prize money being awarded.

Fans can purchase tickets for this year’s TST by visiting