BVB players Erling Haaland and Mats Hummels have been nominated for the Team of the Season by their fellow professionals in the VDV (the Professional Footballers' Union in Germany). Jude Bellingham also received an individual award.

Midfielder Jude Bellingham was voted the VDV Newcomer of the Season by his fellow professionals. He won 24.1% of the vote to finish ahead of Jamal Musiala (Bayern Munich, 19.9%) and Florian Wirtz (Bayer Leverkusen, 9.9%). 

With 7.1% of the vote, Erling Haaland finished in second place behind Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich, 75.9%) for the 2020/21 VDV Player of the Season award.

The 11 best players in their respective position are chosen for the "VDV 11". Mats Hummels (36.9%) and Erling Haaland (61.7%) both made the cut. The other players in the Bundesliga selection include Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich, 51.8%), Alphonso Davies (Bayern Munich, 30.5%), Dayot Upamecano (RB Leipzig, 57.4%), David Alaba (Bayern Munich, 46.1%), Filip Kostić (Eintracht Frankfurt, 28.4%), Joshua Kimmich (Bayern Munich, 81.6%), Thomas Müller (Bayern Munich, 41.1%), Leon Goretzka (Bayern Munich, 45.4%) and Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich, 96.5%). 

All the players in the Bundesliga, Bundesliga 2, third division and the regional leagues, as well as the other VDV members, are eligible to vote.