There was a goosebumps moment in the run-up to the Fortuna Düsseldorf game. At precisely 15:09 CET, the majority of the players who won the 1989 DFB Cup made their way onto the pitch at Signal Iduna Park, where they were honoured for their heroics of 30 years ago by BVB President Dr. Reinhard Rauball, Hans-Joachim Watzke and Carsten Cramer.

It was more than just a trophy. When Borussia Dortmund beat Werder Bremen 4-1 to claim the DFB Cup on 24 June 1989, it brought their 23-year title drought to a close and ushered in an era of success at the club. The Black & Yellows went on to finish as Bundesliga runners-up in 1992 and reach the UEFA Cup final the following season, before claiming successive Bundesliga titles in 1995 and 1996 and lifting the UEFA Champions League and Club World Cup in 1997.