Borussia Dortmund have been drawn with FC Arsenal in the UEFA Champions League for the fourth time, with Galatasaray and RSC Anderlecht the other teams in Group D. Matchday 1 will take place on 16 and 17 September.

BVB sporting director Michael Zorc

“Arsenal, Galatasaray, Anderlecht. I think this is an evenly balanced group and it promises to offer an exciting affair,” said BVB sporting director Michael Zorc after the team’s arrival at Augsburg airport on Thursday. “We already have a bit of experience when it comes to Champions League matches against the Gunners. Borussia Dortmund will go into this very difficult group with a lot of confidence.”

Jürgen Klopp had this to say on the draw: “We are meeting some acquaintances and some fresh faces in Group D. I’ve never played in Anderlecht or Istanbul. Before the draw we didn’t have any teams that we particularly wanted to meet so we are taking it as it comes, and come Saturday we will start gathering information about our opponents. Arsenal are, of course, a side we know most about.”

Jürgen Klopp looks forward to the Champions League.

 “Because of my Turkish roots, games involving Turkish sides are something special for me,” said BVB midfielder Ilkay Gündogan, adding: “Arsenal are an international top side, and these games will give us and the BVB fans an opportunity to meet up with some of the lads from the Germany team. This is going to be a fast-paced and emotional encounter. And those who have watched Anderlecht last year will know that this side has plenty of talent and quality.”

Ilkay Gündogan: Istanbul instead of New Orleans...

BVB skipper Mats Hummels said: “In Galatasaray and Anderlecht our generation of players have been drawn against some new and above all interesting opposition. And to be drawn in a group with Arsenal is sort of business as usual for us. We expect to advance from this group!”

Group A Group B Group C Group D
Atletico Madrid Real Madrid Benfica FC Arsenal
Juventus FC Basel Zenit St. Petersburg Borussia Dortmund
Olympiakos FC Liverpool Bayer Leverkusen Galatasaray
Malmo Ludogorets Razgrad Monaco Anderlecht
Group E Group F Group G Group H
Bayern Munich FC Barcelona Chelsea FC FC Porto
Manchester City Paris St. Germain Schalke 04 Shakhtar Donetsk
CSKA Moscow Ajax Sporting Lissabon Athletic Bilbao
Roma Apoel Nicosia NK Maribor Bate Borisov