Borussia Dortmund forward Erling Haaland is among the 11 nominees for the 2021 FIFA World Player of the Year award.

The current holder is Robert Lewandowski, who has also been nominated once again. The two Bundesliga strikers are joined on the list of nominees to win the award by Karim Benzema, Kevin De Bruyne, Cristiano Ronaldo, Jorginho, N’Golo Kanté, Kylian Mbappé, Lionel Messi, Neymar and Mohamed Salah. 

The vote will be conducted by an international jury consisting of the coaches of all men's national teams, the current captains of all men's national teams, journalists and fans, who can vote here.

The winner will be announced at "The Best FIFA Football Awards" ceremony in Zürich on 17 January 2022. 

Beforehand, on 29 November 2021, the magazine France Football will award the Ballon d'Or. Haaland is also among the 30 candidates for this award. Furthermore, BVB players Jude Bellingham and Giovanni Reyna have been nominated for the "Kopa Trophy", which the magazine gives to the best player under 21 years of age. (cr)