The German Football Association (DFB) has announced the winners of the annual Fritz Walter medal for the best young players in the country. For young players born in 2004 and 2006, two Borussia players have been awarded the highest-possible honour.

The honour for the best young player born in 2004 has gone to Youssoufa Moukoko this year. The 18-year-old beat Brajan Gruda (1. FSV Mainz 05) and Umut Tohumcu (TSG 1899 Hoffenheim) to the award. It is the second time that Moukoko has been awarded the Fritz Walter medal, after 2021. The striker has been with BVB since 2016 and progressed through the youth teams, before becoming the youngest player in Bundesliga history one day after his 16th birthday. He has so far made 58 appearances for BVB in the Bundesliga. 

Paris Brunner, who currently plays for the BVB U19s, received the gold medal for the best young player in the 2006 year group. The silver medal this year went to Noah Darvich (Barcelona), while Assan Ouedraogo won bronze (FC Schalke 04).

"We're very proud that after Marc-Andre Kruska, Mario Götze, who won it twice, and Felix Passlack, another two players have received Fritz Walter gold medals for special achievements on and off the pitch – with Youssoufa winning it a second time. Both boys have earned the award through their performances. It makes us very proud that an award winner at U17 and U19 level come from the same club," said Lars Ricken, the director of the Borussia Dortmund youth performance centre.

Joti Chatzialexiou, the sporting director of the national teams, commented: "Youssoufa is on a good path to permanently establishing himself in a top German team. Paris showed in the Youth League and at the U17 European Championship that he can make the difference in big games."